Regional Seas Conventions

OSPAR Convention

The Convention for the Protection of the Marine Environment of the North-East Atlantic (the 'OSPAR Convention') was open for signature at the Ministerial Meeting of the Oslo and Paris Commissions in Paris on 22 September 1992 (building on the 1972 Oslo Convention and 1974 Paris Convention). The Convention is the mechanism by which 15 Governments and the EU cooperate to protected the marine environment in the North-East Atlantic. It provides the legal framework ( Recommendation 2003/3) for the establishment of am ecologically coherent network of of Marine Protected Areas in the North-East Atlantic, knows as the OSPAR network of MPAs.

The fifteen Governments are Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom.

For more information visit the Marine Protected Areas pages of the OSPAR Convention.


To see a list of all OSPAR MPAs in the WDPA click here.